Peanut and Almond Meal Pancakes

I made Almond and Peanut Meal Pancakes and they were good.

I’m not in much of a writing “mood”, but I did want to take the time out to put this post together because these were actually a moderate success. If you’re into nuts, you’ll like them. They’re a really simple recipe, anyone can do this (seriously, if I can you can), and though I haven’t worked out the macros they are definitely low carb, high monounsaturated fats, and high protein. You’re not going to want to fatten yourself up on them by having them daily, but a few pancakes once or twice a week won’t hurt you.* They’re a fantastic alternative to normal pancakes, and you can choose to make them sweet or savory as needed.

Basic Ingredients:

Ground Peanut (100% natural – no additives)
Almond Meal
Unsweetened Organic Almond Milk
Egg

Add-On Ingredients:

For Savory:*

Raw Organic Cacao Nibs
A sprinkling of cinnamon
Salt
Pepper

For Sweet:*

A sprinkling of cinnamon
Stevia to taste
Organic Vanilla Extract

I’m going to have to remake this recipe and give you more exact measurements and get the calorie content, but if you’ve ever made pancakes before you’ll know to just simply use the measurements that suit you best. When I made this I (think) used the following:

1 cup ground peanuts
1 cup almond meal
2 whole eggs
3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

Those measurements yielded 4 servings for me.

If you find your mixture is too runny, just add dry ingredients as needed; likewise add wet ingredients if it’s the reverse. This recipe actually keeps pretty well in the fridge so you would be able to make it and store the batter in your fridge for up to 7 days safely. Because there’s raw egg in there I wouldn’t keep it past that, but I’m sure you’ll be done with it by the end of the week anyway!

Anyway, it’s an easy act to follow! If you have questions, feel free to shoot me some; and if you have suggestions of your own or you come up with your own macros do leave a comment with them and I’d love to hear about your successes with the recipe!

*I personally love this recipe because it’s nice and nutty and just has that extra kick that regular pancakes lack. But then again, I’m a huge nut. (Yes, a huge nut that loves nuts.)

*When I first made this I made two batches of batter, one sweet and one savory. I usually used the savory batch as a “bread” substitute, so I would make the pancakes and then I would put fat free cream cheese or low fat cottage cheese, lettuce, tomato, onion, garlic, and some spices on them and eat them like a sandwich.

*With the sweet batch, I ate the pancakes with butter, some more stevia drizzled lightly on top, and a side of coffee brewed with cinnamon and vanilla in it. When I felt particularly sinful, I would use a TINY BIT of my homemade cashew butter and eat that with it. (In some circles that’s called overkill.) If I were allowed to eat fruit I would definitely have these with Nutella and strawberry, or a drizzling of chocolate sauce and homemade blueberry compote with Stevia instead of sugar or something. Mmmm…maybe on cheat day…I am seriously considering remaking them as banana pancakes on cheat day. I love nuts with bananas (please reserve your that’s what she said jokes for another time, though I’m sure you can’t help yourselves!).

2 thoughts on “Peanut and Almond Meal Pancakes

Leave a comment